What is a Conference Session?
A conference is a virtual format to communicate and interact with other participants of the event. Here, you can participate in the conference with video and audio.
A conference session suits for an interactive session within small groups. Another option is a Livestream Session, which does not allow Video/Audio but scales to tenthousands of participants
Your Features as Participant
During a conference, you as a participant have many functions that you can perform.
If certain icons/functions do not appear, this is intended by the administrator of the session and has been configured in the backstage (concerns microphone, video, screen sharing).
You can mute yourself during a conference by clicking on the icon with the microphone at the bottom of the bar. Muting means that other participants in the conference cannot hear you.
Description of symbols:
Unmute request through speaker
The speaker may ask you to turn on your microphone. To do this, you will receive a pop-up notification on which you must agree to turn on your microphone. After agreeing, you can be heard by all participants in the conference.
Turn your camera on/off
Your video is automatically turned off when you enter the conference. You must actively turn on your video.
On the selection box you will see the preview of your video and the camera setting. It will show which camera will be used. Most often the integrated camera is used, but an external camera can also be connected.
Description of symbols:
Before you start your video, you can get a preview of your video by clicking the arrow on the camera icon. Only by clicking on the camera icon you (de)activate the camera During the conference you will see your own video in a small field at the bottom right of the screen. To enlarge it, click on the field with your video.
To stop seeing your video, you can hide the field with your video by clicking on the arrow.
Camera request through speaker
The speaker may ask you to turn on your microphone and video. To do this, you will receive a pop-up notification where you must agree to turn on your microphone and camera. After agreeing, your microphone will be on and your video will be on and visible to all participants.
Flip your own Video
Your video is mirrored by default, this corresponds the view when you look in a mirror and is suitable for controlling your own camera image.
Im case you like to share content with your webcam, this could be distorting. In any case the other participants always see a non mirrored image.
Share your Screen
By clicking on the "Share your screen" icon on the lower left corner of the screen, a pre-selection window opens.
On this you can select what exactly you want to make visible to the other participants.
Description of the three sharing options:
If you want to share your screen with audio (e.g. when sharing a video), you need to check the "Share audio" box in the bottom left corner.
Finally, you need to click on the "Share" button to start sharing the screen. This button can be clicked on only after you have selected the window to be split within a tab.
While you are sharing your screen (no matter which of the three sharing options), there is a red frame around your window so you can see what content you are sharing.
To cancel the sharing function, you can press "Stop sharing" in the selection window which is visible for you while sharing. Your screen will then no longer be visible to other participants. You can also make the selection window disappear by "Hide".
Screen Sharing request through speaker
The speaker can ask you to share your screen with the other participants. For this, you will receive a pop-up notification where you have to agree to share your screen. After agreeing, you can decide which content you want to share, as described above.
Raise your hand
A Conference provides you with two video views.
The default view when entering the room is defined through the organizer, but you can switch them.
To switch the view, klick on thy symbol with the four squares on the lower right side of the screen.
The following views are available:
Each participant shows up in a tile which are placed next to each other.
The currently active speaker is show in a bigger Picture, other participants are placed in a smaller screen in a filmstrip on the bottom.
You can pin another participant for yourself personally. This means that this participant is always visible in the foreground for you and the other participants' videos are small or not visible.
This setting is only for you for your own view and does not affect the view of other participants
The speaker can put himself in the "spotlight". This means that he is pinned for all participants and you see him throughout as the main image.
This function can only be activated and deactivated by the speaker.
By clicking on the "Three dots" a window with the conference settings ("More actions") opens. Here you can see your name and various settings that you can set for yourself.
Manage video quality
Here you can set the video quality of the conference between four levels. Mostly the "High resolution" is set automatically.
By clicking on "Full screen mode" the conference appears on your entire screen. This function can be terminated by clicking the ESC key or by clicking on "Exit full screen" in the conference settings.
By pressing the "Settings" button, the required devices (camera, microphone, audio) can be set under the "Devices" tab. In most cases, the integrated camera and the standard functions of the microphone and audio are automatically set. You can also check the audio by a test tone. Secondly, you can set the operating language under the "More" tab. The buttons and selection options are then displayed accordingly in the respective language.
If you'd like to take an active part in the conference, we recommend to use laptop or other device with a big screen.
To join the conference from your smart phone, click after this warning the join session button.
More information and detailed description of the user interface can be found here