What is the Q&A Feature?

Using the Q&A Feature you can ask your questions to the speaker during a session and vote for other questions.


Speaker Documentation

You are in the documentation for PARTICIPANTS, therefore speaker features are not described here.

You will find the complete speaker documentation here.



How to open the Q&A Feature?

The Q&A icon is located on the right or left navigation bar, depending on how the admin configured it. 



In some cases, it is already automatically unfolded when you enter the session or rooms. 

The Q&A panel can be opened by clicking on the Q-icon and closed independently by clicking on the Q-icon or in the panel. 


Why can't I see the Q&A?

The Q&A feature can be enabled by the admin in the main room (lobby) or in individual breakout rooms.

If you can't see the Q&A Panel,it's propably not enabled or the session is not open yet.


How to use the Q&A?


Ask Questions

You as well as any participant who can access the Q&A can ask questions

In order to do this, write your question into the respective field below the other questions and click ENTER or click on the arrow to send it. 





For other participants and speakers, the date, time, and first and last name of your message can be seen.


Ask Anonymous Questions

If you do not want your name to be seen and your question to be anonymous, click on the slider below the field. Only the date and time will then be displayed - your name will be replaced by "Anonymous".





This function must be enabled by the speaker in his/her settings and is only then visible to participants. If the instructor has not activated it, the function for asking questions anonymously is not available. The slider is not visible.



Voting

Questions can be ranked by voting questions up or down based on your interest. The resulting order is visible to you and speakers.





Delete own Questions

By clicking on the three dots in the top right corner of your own question and choosing "Delete Question", you can delete your message. You can only delete your own questions. The speaker of the session can delete questions form anybody. The deleted messages will then no further be visible for anyone and cannot be restored.


Open and Answered questions

Initially, all questions are located in the "Open Questions" tab. As soon as the speaker has answered a question in the stream, chat, etc., he can mark the question as "answered". The question thus ends up in the "Answered Questions" tab. 

You can view all questions (open or answered) at any time.





Moderation of questions


The speaker can thus "moderate" the Q&A. With this function he can decide which questions (+answers) are not yet visible (question is hidden) and when which question is made visible for all participants. If the speaker has hidden your question for the time being, your question will be displayed to you under "Hidden Questions" and will not be visible to other participants until it has been "published".


Mobile View

Within the mobile view you can find the Q&A symbol on the bottom menu bar.


 


Further Reading

More information and detailed description of the participant interface can be found here.